The Wyckoff House is a historic house at 5816 Clarendon Road in the Canarsie neighborhood of Brooklyn in New York City. It is the oldest surviving building in New York City and it is a National Historic Landmark.
The house was built in the mid-17th century by Pieter Claesen Wyckoff, a Dutch immigrant. It is a saltbox-style house, which is characterized by a long, sloping roof that extends over the back of the house. The house is made of wood and has a brick chimney.
The interior of the house is furnished with period furniture and artifacts. Visitors can see the kitchen, the living room, the bedrooms, and the barn. The house is also surrounded by a garden that features plants that were grown in colonial times.
The Wyckoff House is a popular destination for school tours and field trips. It is also open to the public on Saturdays from 11am to 4pm.
Here are some interesting facts about the Wyckoff House:
- It is the oldest surviving building in New York City.
- It was one of the first structures built by Europeans on Long Island.
- It was built on land that was purchased from the Lenape people in 1636.
- It is a National Historic Landmark and a New York City designated landmark.
- It was originally a one-room farmhouse, but it was expanded over time.
- It was home to the Wyckoff family for over 300 years.
- It was used as a tavern and a store during the American Revolution.
- It was nearly demolished in the 1960s, but it was saved by a group of preservationists.
- It was restored to its original condition in the 1980s.
- It is now a museum that is open to the public.